Uppsala University

Prof. Leif Hammarström

He is the Chairman for the Swedish Consortium for Artificial Photosynthesis (CAP), with ca. 80 researchers working on the science of solar fuels. He is also Chairman of the Solar Energy Platform Sweden. He is an internationally well-known expert in photochemistry and mechanisms of artificial photosynthesis for solar fuels. He is acting Expert for Mission Innovation’s Innovation Challenge 5 (Solar Fuels), the Core Member representative of the international Solar Fuels Institute. He has published over 180 peer-reviewed papers in the field.

Assoc. Prof. Ann Magnuson

She is executive board member and communications officer of the Swedish Consortium for Artificial Photosynthesis. She has broad expertise from photosynthetic organisms to artificial photosynthesis. After a PhD at Lund University, she did postdoctoral research at UC Davies and Michigan SU on advanced spectroscopy of oxygenic photosynthesis. She has had many panel commissions from the US Department of Energy, Swedish Energy Agency and the European Commission, and was responsible for dissemination WPs of the EU projects “SOLAR-H” and “SOLAR-H2”. She is an active member of the European Energy Research Alliance (EERA) network of Advanced Materials and Processes for Energy Application (AMPEA).

Prof. Johannes Messinger

He initiated the Solar Fuels Environment upon his recruitment to Umeå University in 2008, with strong funding from the private Wallenberg and Kempe Foundations. Since 2016, he is at Uppsala University as chair of the Molecular Biomimetics program. He is an international expert on the mechanism of photosynthetic water splitting, with several papers in Nature and Science during the last years. His group is applying the principles learned from Nature for developing electrodes for (photo)electrochemical water oxidation and reduction based on earth-abundant elements, and for developing design principles for activating base metals for catalyzing water oxidation chemistry. He is a guest professor at Umeå University and develops ‘Artificial Leaf’ and ‘N2-to-Ammonia’ devices in collaboration with the groups Thomas Wågberg and Ludvig Edman.

Prof. Peter Lindblad

He is Dean for Cooperation at the Faculty of Science and Technology and a researcher and group leader in Microbial chemistry at at Uppsala University (UU). He participates in the EU/Horizon2020-Energy project Photofuel (2015-2019, 12 partners, coordinated by Volkswagen, includes e.g. Neste, Volvo and Fiat/Chrysler) and the Nordic Center of Excellence NordAqua, funded by NordForsk (2017-22). Previously, he was the coordinator of the EU/FP7-Energy project CyanoFactory (2012-2015, 10 partners in 7 countries), and participated in the Nordic collaborative project AquaFeed (2012-2015). He also coordinated two Nordic collaborative projects, funded by Nordic Energy Research, on BioHydrogen, was the Deputy coordinator of the EU/FP7-Energy project SolarH2, and participated in the EU/FP7-NEST project BiomodularH2 and the international project BioCO2. Additionally, 1999-2005 he was the coordinator of the IEA network Photobiological hydrogen production, Annex 15, and participated in the follow-up IEA H2-Agreement Annex 21 BioHydrogen. He has published 180 peer-reviewed scientific papers in the field.